更新减脂方法

减脂是一个人们持续的追求。过去15年,甚至更久之前的趋势是从吃低脂肪食物到现在吃适量的健康脂肪,从吃替代糖到有吃益健康的食物,基本的“管住嘴,迈开腿”,最新趋势是正念饮食或全心饮食法(mindful eating),根据个人代谢再配合运动。当时最常见的饮食法是阿特金斯饮食法、南滩饮食法、量化饮食法、珍妮·克雷格饮食法,只是列举几个我记得的。我承认即使我是一名注册营养师及自然疗法医师,我在职业生涯的前十年一直在避免减重这个话题。我过度简化减脂这个概念,觉得减脂就是吃得健康,吃真正的食物加上搭配运动。值得庆幸的是,我喜欢学习新事物的心让我5年前无意中看到了一位自然疗法同事的博客,从那时起我的观点和想法改变了,从回避减脂话题到全力支持他们的减脂之旅。

身体需要健康才可让脂肪溶解。不幸,过多脂肪会导致多种非传染性疾病,如糖尿病、高血压、肾衰竭、心血管疾病及肌肉骨骼疾病。在心理及情绪方面,脂肪增加往往导致抑郁及减少社交活动。然而我现在明白应将脂肪增加看作恶性循环,而非线性过程。换句话说,当我们的身体、精神、情感、生活方式及环境都不健康的时候,我们就会变胖。所以一个真正的减脂疗程必须评估一个人的“有毒负荷”,并帮助身体的自然排毒。

减脂是一个多因素的过程,并不是单纯的吃多少卡路里,消耗多少卡路里。血糖、胰岛素,食欲刺激素、瘦蛋白,其他代谢激素如皮质醇、脱氢表雄酮、雌激素、黄体酮的作用都深深影响一个人的脂肪代谢。 此外,一个人的生长和生活环境的毒素负荷也有影响,因为这些“毒素”影响神经系统、内分泌系统和免疫系统。除了身体反应之外,从我个人的临床经验可总结,脂肪增加也是身体对过往情绪创伤的反应。

从今年2018年的2月至6月,BodyConscious功能性医学健康管理中心团队支持并引导一班试验参与者的减脂之旅。在这4个月内,这些试验参与者需每周去BodyConscious功能性医学健康管理中心3至4次。每位参与者都从排掉身心灵毒素套餐开始,改变饮食、心血管红外线桑拿排毒、配合个人健身训练、针灸及每周与我们中心的健康咨询师做跟进咨询,了解个人进步、营养、正念练习和生活情况。许多人接着做有效安全减少身体脂肪套餐,进一步减脂。截至9月30日,我们的“最大赢家”在4个月套餐结束时减掉了身体42%的脂肪,并继续保持减肥效果!无论见了多少公斤,这对所有参与者来说都是一个巨大的改变之旅。

一个人需要一个支持自己的环境才能实现健康和可持续减脂效果。下次如果你身边有人希望减脂,请务必带他来见我们。“管住嘴,迈开腿”和溜溜球节食已经不复存在。让我们达到可持续的减脂效果,解决脂肪增加的真正根源。

Refreshed Fat Loss Approach

Fat loss.It’s a tale as old as time. The trends of the last 15 years (and beyond) went from low fatto now moderate amount of healthy fat, from substitute sugarto wholesome food, and certainly the ultimate eat less, exercise moreto now mindful eating and personalized metabolic rebalancing physical activities. The most commonly known diets back in the days were Atkins, South Beach, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig to name the ones I can recall. I will admit, despite my qualifications (first Registered Dietitian then a Naturopathic Physician), for the first 10 years of my professional career, I avoided the topic of fat loss like the plaque. I oversimplified fat loss with the notion of eat healthy, eat real food, and move. Thankfully, as an avid learner, I came across a ND colleague’s blog 5 years ago and the information that I have encountered since then transformed my view and approach to supporting all on their fat loss journey.

It takes getting healthy for the fat to melt away. Unfortunately, excessive fat mass leads to a multitude of non-communicable disease ranging from diabetes to high blood pressure, kidney failure, cardiovascular conditions, and musculoskeletal challenges. On the mental-emotional level, fat gain often leads to depression, dissociation, and social challenges. However, I have learned to look at fat gain not as a linear process but a vicious cycle. In another words, when we are not healthy – physically, mentally, emotionally, lifestyle wise, environmentally – we gain fat. This is why for true fat loss process, we must evaluate one’s “toxic load” and support the body’s natural detoxification pathway.

Fat loss is a multifactorial and intertwined puzzle.It is absolutely not calories in vs calories out. The effects of blood sugar, insulin, ghrelin, leptin, and even other metabolic hormones such as cortisol, DHEA-S, estrogen, progesterone all play a part of one’s fat metabolism. In addition, an individual’s growing and living environmental toxin load also plays an effect as these “toxins” affect the nervous system, the endocrine system, and the immune system. Physical responses aside, it is more apparent too from my clinical experience that fat gain is also the body’s response to one or more emotional traumas of the past.

In the four months of February to June this year (2018), the BodyConscious at Y Wellness team supported a group of trial participants through their fat loss journey. These individuals committed as often as 3-4 visits to the Center every week in those four months. Everyone started with the Cleanse Me program with cleaner eating and therapeutic infrared sauna sweating on top of personalized physical activities, acupuncture, and weekly check-in session with our wellness consultant in regards to progress, nutrition, mindfulness practices, and processing of life. Many then went on the Shink Me program to further enhance the fat loss process. Our “biggest loser” had lost 42% of his fat mass by the end of the 4-months program and continues to maintain the fat loss as of September 30th! It was a transformative process for everyone involved, regardless of the numbers of kilogram of fat mass lost.

Just as it takes a village to raise a child, it too takes a supportive community for healthy and sustainable fat loss to occur. The next time anyone in your life wishes to make a resolution around fat loss, be sure to check in with them. Gone is “eat less, exercise more” and yoyo dieting. Let us all welcome sustainable fat loss by addressing the true underlying root causes of fat gain.